Country Information

Coordinates Latitude 42°N
Longitude 20°E
Land Area 13,812 km2 (5,333 sq. mi.)
Coastline 293.5 km (182.4 miles)
Capital Podgorica
Population 650,575
Language Serbian
Currency Euro (€)
Time zone CET (UTC+1)
Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
Electricity 220V 50Hz
Electronic Plug Standard Euro Plug
Country Dial Code 381

Montenegro is a southern European country, belonging to the Central Mediterranean. It borders with Albania in the southeast, Serbia in the north, and its western neighbors are Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina. The total land border is 614 km (382 miles), and majority of that is with Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Only a tiny portion of the land borders with Croatia.

The name Montenegro (Black Mountain) was presumably derived from lush vegetation (black forests) covering mountains. The name was first used in 1276 after which it slowly entered West-European languages.

Montenegro covers a land area of 13,812 square kilometers (5,333 sq. mi.) and has a population of just over 650,000. The majority of population, 71%, is comprised of Montenegrins and Serbs (the majority of whom are Orthodox Christian) but there are also Croatian and Albanian minorities. The capital city, Podgorica, is one of the most populous places in the country, with over 150,000 people. Other main population centers are Herceg Novi, Kotor, Bar, Ulcinj on the coast, and Bijelo Polje, Berane, and Niksic in the north. Serbian (српски) is the official language, which is in the South-Slavic family of languages and is written in Cyrillic and Latin.